UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com
 
Tesco Ratings:
   
  Value Value Rating
  Design Design Rating
  Service Service Rating
     
 

Tesco DVD Rental

 

.The best value Lovefilm"powered by" site, though with some service problems; we still prefer the original, but can understand the lure of the cheap prices

Visit Tesco DVD Rental Site


Customer Comments for Tesco DVD Rental

John from Suffolk, August 24, 2008

Started off really well but then it became harder and harder to get newly released films or our first choice films. This seemed to coincide with Lovefilm taking them over.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Alyson from Blackpool, July 26, 2008

Same, start good but slow right down, also I changed my bank details but they kept taking money from the old account and I got overdrawn. The web-site can be very slow. Customer service, when you can get hold of them, are not very helpful.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

David from Leeds, July 25, 2008

Unfortunately Tesco is powered by Lovefilm.com and my short experience with both, regarding billing my account and not supplying the agreed dvd's I wouldn't reccommend either and subsequently just joined blockbuster, so far no problems.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Anthony from Redruth, July 6, 2008

Tesco used to be brilliant; that is, they had a very fast turnaround. Unfortunately this is no longer the case - now they are awfully slow. Allocations take a day, whereas it used to be immediate allocation. Even the postal service seems to have slowed. Moreover, unlike Blockbuster, 2-DVD sets are split, whereas Blockbuster send them as one allocation. I have already moved to Blockbuster, but am tied to Tesco by a one year up-front pre-payment. Blockbuster's service is really superb; discs allocated immediately, post is one day there, one day back - fantastic service. I really regret paying up-front with Tesco - a big mistake.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Patrick, June 16, 2008

WARNING - Free trial can cost you!
I took-up the offer of a free 3month trial. My card was billed straight away because (it turns out) I had reduced the number of DVDs from 3 down to 2 per month! They will not pay back my money and I have only seen one DVD. Customer service not interested in helping - I have cancelled my account.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Mat, June 2, 2008

WARNING - Free trial can cost you!
I took-up the offer of a free 3month trial. My card was billed straight away because (it turns out) I had reduced the number of DVDs from 3 down to 2 per month! They will not pay back my money and I have only seen one DVD. Customer service not interested in helping - I have cancelled my account.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Colin from Fife, May 3, 2008

I have been a member for about 1 year now. The service started off really fast and I was impressed. Over time it has slowed to a snails pace. I have had to complain on numerous occassions. I am letting my membership expire now and I'm going to try the Blockbuster site.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Laura from Herefordshire, April 25, 2008

Started really well the discs showed as being returned the next day and were turned around that day. Now seems to be 3 days for them to arrive, and then have to wait 24-48 hours for them to allocate. Complete waste to have unlimited as they are only managing to send one lot every 7-10 days, even though there are over 40 titles on my list, and not all new films.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

Bern from Manchester, March 13, 2008

Ive just signed up for Tesco DVD rental, First weeks trial, Excellent, Keep 2 at home at any time, Cost around 12.quid, Was recieving 2 in the post at a time, And recieved 6 in the first week, So i thought great, Well worth the money, Soon as my trial ended, And i made first payment, There service went from excellent to snail pace, No more 2 in the post at a time, Now its 1 at a time, And very slow, Im lucky to get 2 a week, So i am now looking to try else where, Poor service in my eyes, Would recommend look else where.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Adam from Hampshire, February 4, 2008

The service is pretty good from Tesco DVD rental. They manage to send discs out the same day they're returned and I havent had that many problems with lost discs. The customer service is basic and alot of the emails recieved back are automated. The phone service is good but you may have to wait on the line for 20 mins or so.

It's good value for money for those who want to try new films. So far, it's averaging around 1.00 a disc.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Andy, December 21, 2007

Recently they have started sending out two DVDs in one envelope without enclosing a second return envelope. This is annoying because you cant return the second DVD until either you get a new delivery or you watch both DVDs and return together. Have complained to customer service so will see what happens.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Nigel from Rochester, December 21, 2007

Poor, right across the board. Would not expect this from a company with its resources.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Steve, November 23, 2007

I have closed my Tesco account the customer service is absolutely appalling. They took 20 from my account which I have been trying to get back for 13 months all I get is false promises and excuses You can bet the faded group they gave 1000000 to you recently do not have to wait I have only one thing to say about tesco dvd service--avoid.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Sophie from Boston , November 5, 2007

I think tesco dvd rental is an awesome sight but I think the price for including games is a bit dear and there is no option just to rent games? any feedback?

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Pete from Liverpool, November 5, 2007

I found the service excellent until this month, when they informed me the postal service was being downgraded to 2nd Class. I was finding 5-7 days in the post BOTH ways was just ridicuous in waiting for the next title. I had already paid in advance as well, so cancelled. At first they were reluctant to refund me, but after more pressure they conceded.

I was immediatley going to move to lovefilm.com who advertise all their packages as 1st Class. I dropped them an email last night to verify this was the case and to my amazement they replied they no longer offer a 1st class service, only 2nd class!!! What!?

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Bunsen, October 5, 2007

I agree with some of the other postings. Tesco's service starts off really good with good selections and quick turn around times, but just lately they are becoming a pain in the back side. I have had to phone them up on several occasions to complain about slow turn around times, not receiving high priority dvds first and also sending the same disc twice.
When I questioned them as to why I was receiving low priority films instead of my high priority ones, they couldn't give me an answer. They said that all the titles I had on my high priority list were in stock at the time, but for some reason they sent one from my low priority list. I am seriously looking at changing to another company.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Thomas from Leeds, September 21, 2007

I have been with Tesco dvd rental for some time. At first the service was ok buth in the last few months their service is deplorable .I am on unlimited discs per month.
Sometimes two discs turn up then three and then none.
I have complained several times to customer service and things improve.Then the same old problems happen again.The usual excuses about slow turn around.blame royal mail and everybody else except themselves.I fed up with their slap dash way of treating their customers.I will definitely look elsewhere for a better service.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Doreen from Glasgow, September 12, 2007

I joined the Tesco dvd rental service several months ago (3 discs at a time unlimited package)& was initially quite happy with them.
However over the last 2-3 months,turnaround times have become slow & keep receiving low priority discs in favour of high or medium priority listings.This is extremely frustrating as my high priority discs are series's and are not showing with any waiting times.When I e-mailed them, the reply was just a stock answer stating that dvd availability etc.was taken into account etc.But if availability was a problem-why are they not showing with a waiting time?
I have only managed to get 4 discs from my one top priority series in over 3 weeks. The only other top priority disc was a new film release about 4 weeks ago - and still not received.All in all,very frustrating.
I will be cancelling when eventually receive last disc in current series(24 series 3) & will be taking my custom elsewhere.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Tesc, August 3, 2007

Started with a 3 month trial, and have jsut upgraded from 2 discs to 3 unlimited. Seems cheap, and now NTL has lost sky the best entertainment on telly is a DVD! But we have recently noticed we seem to be getting a lot of films neither of us remeber putting on the list (am receiving only 1 on my list out of the 3 being posted this time), the ones we want to see dont ever arrive, and the turn arond times are getting longer. Hint - It also seems that the more popular items on the list dont get filled unless you delete them and then put them on again, and you get a more films per week by returning them individually in spare envelopes.

Looking for a better provider than Tesco even if it costs a few quid more.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Scanguy, August 3, 2007

Started with a 3 month trial, and have jsut upgraded from 2 discs to 3 unlimited. Seems cheap, and now NTL has lost sky the best entertainment on telly is a DVD! But we have recently noticed we seem to be getting a lot of films neither of us remeber putting on the list (am receiving only 1 on my list out of the 3 being posted this time), the ones we want to see dont ever arrive, and the turn arond times are getting longer. Hint - It also seems that the more popular items on the list dont get filled unless you delete them and then put them on again, and you get a more films per week by returning them individually in spare envelopes.

Looking for a better provider than Tesco even if it costs a few quid more.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Slawek from Herefordshire, August 2, 2007

I signed up at the beginning of the year. Initially, they service was excellent. If you wanted, like me, quick turnaround you would have to choose Tesco - they would receive DVD's next day and ship the new one the same day. What else you could want. However, about 2-3 months ago, all of sudden, their turnaround slowed down so much that I actually complained to them. I did get the response in which someone was trying to explain to me, as if I was a child, that it might take up to 2 days for the DVD to reach me. When I told them that it wasn't the case before, I got almost exactly the same response. Anyway, for some strange reasons, they turnaround slowed down so much that I'm now on the lookout for some other rental companies. And it's a shame because their website and selection of titles is pretty good.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Liz from Surrey, July 4, 2007

I probably shouldn't give customer service four stars as I have no idea - I haven't needed to use it. I've had the 4 discs per month, 2 at a time package for about 4 months now and it has been 100% troublefree, no delays, no complaints.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jeremy from London, June 19, 2007

Problem with Tesco dispatching next dvd's when they get them back, especially on mondays. sometime have to wait 2 to 3 days for them to send the next dvds to me!!! I keep Emailing their helpdesk to contact their dispatch department - doesnt seem to make any difference!!!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

John from Margate, May 24, 2007

Tesco used to be good, I had no complaints and turnround was better than I expected. Then Lovefilm took over and the service/turnround went downhill. Severe thottling on the 3 disc package actually gave me 1 disc one week.

I have just terminated my account with Tesco - shame - all down to Lovefilm.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Karen from Manchester, May 14, 2007

Like most others on this site, I've experienced a deterioration in service recently. Last yeat I bought a 12-month subscription but when I renewed for another 6 months this year, I was charged for 1 1/2 years. They said that they hadn't been charged last year but I can't prove one way or the other as I haven't got my bank statements. Found it really poor that they didn't even let me know they were going to charge my switch card with over 100 in one go, when I was expecting less than 40!

Customer service is very poor - the person I spoke to about this couldn't care less and just said that I couldn't have a refund if I wanted to cancel. No attempt to explain why they hadn't chased for last year's payment earlier if they hadn't taken it. Currently waiting until the end of the subscription period so that I can cancel.

***Warning - don't use Tesco's pre-pay subscription if you are thinking that you might need to cancel as they won't refund the unused element***

Value: Value Rating .Design: .Service: Service Rating

 

James, May 6, 2007

Soon after signing up and adding a few games to my account (5 mins) i realised that with the account that i had created i was unable to rent games. i therefore changed the account type to one that allows games and was charged imediatly and told that there will be no refund.

I find this disgrasefull especially as i quieried it on the same night, before anything could have been dispatched.

Absolute rubbish service, strongly advise that you stay away from them because of Tesco's rubbish customer service attitude.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Al from Dorset, April 20, 2007

Strange 'shop' process online with 'update' button and priority selection that makes no difference to the discs you receive. Just get the old 'It's a Wonderful Life' discs from your selection and not the new releases.

COMPLETELY UNABLE to deliver series in order. Was sent part2 first. Then part one of another series. Then part 1 but missing one disc and resent disc previously returned. It's not rocket science, people, what is going on?

Value: Value Rating .Design: .Service: Service Rating

 

Gillian from Greater Manchester, March 20, 2007

NO STAR RATING! UTTER RUBBISH SINCE LOVEFILM TOOK OVER! AVOID! (they don't deserve the 1 star, but thats the lowest you can give)

Just look at the reviews! I've been with Tesco's for some time but I am about to ditch them for Blockbusters. (after I make sure I stop the money first, as according to other reviews, they seem to take extra money after you cancel, and don't refund it)

You don't get new releases or top choices. In fact they are usually bottom of the barrel.

SLOW?!!! Thats because LOVEFILM STAFF WATCH THE FILMS that you return before crediting them back to your account. (We send two back at once in the same envelope, but only one is acknowledged as returned) Their staff even take films out for themselves from your account, that you haven't even asked for.

Customer service? You may as well bang your head against a brick wall! Email = mass sent waffle that doesn't address your problem, or says its not their fault. Telephone = helpline in INDIA! more waffle but this time bearly in English! If you ask to speak to anyone high up, NO chance! Letter by Royal mail. Absolutely no response! No apology, no "we are looking into it" Its totally out of control and Tesco are turning a blind eye.

Avoid like the plaque
I am avoiding lovefilm in all guises at all costs

P.S. Blockbusters is only 1.02 dearer per month (on 2 disk unlimited)

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Al from Dorset, March 20, 2007

Like the other people here I have been with Tesco for months but since they became 'powered' (a misnomer if ever there was one) by Lovefilm the service has deteriorated considerably. I had a particular problem with them continually putting the wrong title in my selection and even sending this wrong title to me ... twice. I've just cancelled.

Value: Value Rating .Design: .Service: Service Rating

 

Chris from Preston, March 17, 2007

Been with Tescos for 4 months. I'm on the 2 DVD's at home package.
If I send a DVD back on Monday I won't get another until Thursday, Frustratingly you can see your returned disk on the website for over 24 hours before they get to ship the next out.
They sent me the Seinfeld series out of order. i.e episodes 5-8 before 1-5.
You have to wait months for top titles.
They only work a 5 day week.
I've just stopped with them and looking for an alternative

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Rich from London, March 14, 2007

I've been with tescos for 18 months now and they WERE excellent. They were originally run by videoisland but are now run by lovefilm.....what a change in service! it used to be so good, but now, slow delivery and most annoyingly at least 50% of the disks i've received this year have been either scratched with a section being unplayable or worse literally cracked. Could not recommend. Pay the extra and go with someone else.

Value: Value Rating .Design: .Service: Service Rating

 

Roger from Essex, February 28, 2007

I was happy with 1 disc service paid monthly so I upgraded to 2 discs and paid a year in advance. Once they had my money, delivery became slow, I don't think in practice I'm getting any more discs than before. Very poor customer service which insists '1 business day' actually means two days. They won't refund my outstanding money; as soon as the rental period is over I'm leaving.

Stick to 1 disc if you want the Tesco's points, but DON'T pay for a long period in advance.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jennie from Essex, March 1, 2007

tesco are very slow at delivering, the only time disc's are sent out quickly is the first 2 days after payment. i subscribed to 2 discs at a time and turn around is about 5 days. perviously was getting 3-4 discs per week lucky now if i get two. have written to customer services several times and get a non discript answer which leaves me wondering if they even read my e-mail.

Value: Value Rating .Design: .Service: Service Rating

 

Chris from Fleet, February 28, 2007

for first few months very good service but then went downhill with very slow turnaround on films and also getting films not even on my list no help at all from customer services when i cancelled i was charged extera month i would avoid

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Roger from Ilford, 15 February, 2007

I've been a member for over two years now. The service used to be really good when powered by Screen Select up until about Aug/Sept 2005. Then there was a fire at the processing plant and things slowed down considerably. They havent really fully recovered since.

More recently things have gone from bad to worse with the introduction of using a single envelope to post selections, when it suits them to hold up their turnaround time. Otherwise they will still send selections out individually. If you write to customer services with your complaints, you seem to get a distancing reply of "we have checked our records and we are not at fault" despite seeing seeing complaints being slipped into various reviews by other customers.

On a positive note, the site is easy to navigate and its cheaper than other providers (only by about 1.00) However, like a previous reviewer, I'm sure that if things do not improve soon I will move on.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Chris from Fleet, 12 Febrary, 2007

I was a member for 18 months and was happy with the service until lovefilm took over, now DVD's have a 5 day turn around instead of 3 day (part of the problem being they no longer work saturdays since the take over). I also ordered a 6 month gift voucher for a b'day present, it did not turn up in time (4 days late) and now to top it all of after cancelling my service I've just noticed I've been charged for this months service and have had no reply from customer service.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

Rebecca from North Yorkshire, 15 February, 2007

The Tesco service was really good, until they changed to lovefilm. Now it takes ages to get new films, I keep getting films I haven't ordered, the wrong dvd in the box. Now they are trying to cut costs by putting more dvds in one envelope, which does not work for the customer. If they don't improve servive I will be looking else where.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

David from Carlisle, 12 Febrary, 2007

The customer service has improved a lot in the past two months.And is on par with Blockbuster.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Penny from Dorset, 9 Febrary, 2007

Since October, and Lovefilm taking over, the service is SO SLOW.. if you complain or ask when you will recieve another disc, Tesco tell you they have not received the last disc and threatened to charge you £20, I am NOT impressed. It is taking over a week from sending back a disc for it even to appear back as returned. Very POOR service.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Sebastian from Londres, 7 Febrary, 2007

(I really enjoyed video islands deserved 5 stars even 6) Since lovefilms took over is becoming very low in turn over and no way to get new title must be only for "honeymoon" period So do not lose your money and check somewhere else

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Richard from York, 5 February, 2007

The selection is good and it is, in theory good value for money. However, the speed of sending out discs has seriously deterioated. During the "switchover" last year I went around a full week (5 to 7 days from memory) without a new disc being dispatched. They did send me ONE bonus disc concurrently with the next one they eventually sent out - although whether that was because I submitted a complaint I can't be sure.

At this moment, I sent a disc back on Friday (in time for the post collection), and according to the site they haven't received that back into stock as at 14:08 on Monday. When I first started with Tesco the turnaround was much better. Part of the poor turnaround may be the fact that a lot of my selections are recent releases. But at the end of the day, I don't want a load of old releases - I can borrow old stuff from friends and family.

I also complained a while ago as I had several discs that jumped. They said they'd make sure that one of my top selections would be sent out next - it wasn't.

I'm looking to switch if it doesn't improve soon.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Tracey from Southampton, 31 January, 2006

Very disappointed with Tesco service, signed up for a 60 day free trial in December, things started off ok, but now that the trial is coming to an end the problems have started. The last two DVD's sent from Tesco have not arrived which means that I havent actually seen a film from them in over 3 weeks. No reply to emails sent to their customer service dept, so am cancelling and looking elsewhere.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Iain from Manchester, 22 December, 2006

Used to be pretty good, but went down hill fast after the merger between LoveFilm and Video Island. Impression given is that the merged organisation cannot cope. The response time to have a film allocation after the return of a dvd has dropped from same day to 3 to 5 days. Email complaints are answered by staff who often have not read the complaint, and simply reply with a stock answer that often misses the point of the complaint.

We are looking for an alternative, even if it costs a bit more.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Mike O', 22 December, 2006

I had subscribed to tesco for several months I cancelled because sometimes I would select film /documentary with 2-3-4 discs and on couple of occasions turned up out of order.
Although this stopped when I contacted customer services. Now I would like to reactivate my account but find that £11.47 will come out of my bank , and no refund with know option to chose from and no real explanation on why the amount is so much .....is it because £7.97 for 1 disc as gone up or is it that I have to get 3-4 for that month? that is not a chose and because of that customer service has dropped a star

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

Iain from Manchester, 22 December, 2006

Used to be pretty good, but went down hill fast after the merger between LoveFilm and Video Island. Impression given is that the merged organisation cannot cope. The response time to have a film allocation after the return of a dvd has dropped from same day to 3 to 5 days. Email complaints are answered by staff who often have not read the complaint, and simply reply with a stock answer that often misses the point of the complaint.

We are looking for an alternative, even if it costs a bit more.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

Paul from Hampshire, 17 December, 2006

Started with a 1 DVD trial, which was great, upgraded to 3 DVD, but now they are so slow sending the disks, and all three often come on the same day that we see less films than the 1 DVD deal. Calling them did no good. Going to try someone else.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Jason, 16 December, 2006

i would not recommend tesco dvd rental because after i cancelled my rental plan they still take out money from my account with no explanation at all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! NOT EVEN ONE STAR.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Rachel from Surrey, 8 December, 2006

Very disappointed with Tesco service. After a few months of service I found it impossible to get new releases - to the point where I took all the others off my list and still they managed to ensure I got the oldest DVD's first. If you want to get new releases go elsewhere. Have since bought a PVR with freeview and far more satisfied!

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Mike from Somerset, 4 December, 2006

Having read other comments, I find I'm not the only one who's disappointed since LoveFilm took over Tesco's rental service.

However, I have contacted Tesco to complain, as they care about cusomter service. Try Tesco helpline (0800 505555), you may have to go through a couple of people, but I ended up with 'Entertainment'. Just be careful that they don't transfer you to LoveFilm's helpline, I ended up explaning that I wanted to talk to Tesco customer care, they have agreed to call me back...

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Patrick from London, 30 November, 2006

had a good start with Tesco ... perhaps they try a little harder with new members. After about a month it went all pear shaped. I would even bother trying to rent new releases like the da vinci code...I have waited almost 5 weeks for this titled and had even put it on my reservations list... I have had to do this with numerous title....In the your pretty off saving your time and letting them pick your selection...becuase basically they dont appear to care what movies you want as high priority..they'll send you whatever theyve got in stock...which apparently isn't much. Word around the campfire is since merging with Lovefilm.com their movie variety may have improved but they simply dont have the numbers to keep up with the demand. For example Ive had to wait up to 6 weeks for new releases...thats absurd!!!!!!!
Needless to say I am canacelling my contract.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Paul from Bradford, 29 November, 2006

Joined Tesco DVD rental about 18 months ago, over this period of time the service has been generally poor, with little or no responce from customer services, when you contact them with a problem. Tesco are good at selling groceries, but very poor at DVD rental, now looking to change to hopefully a better quality DVD renter.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Adam from Bristol, 23 November, 2006

Never got many of the films we asked for, just old ones they didnt have any use for. Cancelling a major problem - multiple steps - "are you really really sure" etc - then, afterwards, spurious endless emails claiming we had not sent back a DVD months ago, demanding more payments etc etc. Don't use them.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Jamey, 13 November, 2006

I've been with Tesco like 5 months...not bad, but today 13-11-06 i've cancelled because i got frustrated with the service.
Their website is rubbish...slow and crashes alot. All my other websites work fine...just tescos.
Also, they recently moved over to ILOVEFILMS as a service provider for their movies...and the best u can get is like one replacement disk a week, despite there 'supposedly' being no cap on the amount of disks u can view in a month.
I emailed them about these two issues, and they just spouted rubbish. No apologies. Just saying that it takes time!

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Jim from Brighton, 29 October, 2006

Can't complain, have been with Tesco for three months and I get a constant stream of discs through the letterbox. Great idea this. Haven't tried any other companies to compare to, but I'm one satisfied customer. I have noticed a slowdown in the last couple weeks, but not too bad. Don't think I'm as affected as others ecause I have a massive queue, over 100 titles I've been hankering to see, not just new blockbusters which I'd think would be in short supply, but oldies, TV shows, etc.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Dave from Nottingham , 29 October, 2006

As with many of the reviews on here, all started well during the first month or so with Tesco. Top priority DVD's were dispatched on the same working day as they were returned and arrived on the next working day. Woohoo I thought.

However, after the "Honeymoon Period" had finished, the service took an extreme nosedive. For example, one dvd never arrived. I reported this using the website and was told that a V91 form would be sent out and if I did not return this form then I would be charged 20 quid. Funnily enough, the form never arrived, and with no leg to stand on they swiped 20 quid from my account.

Don't even bother trying to phone them, you will never get through on the phone number they give you. Email responses are obviously copied and pasted.

Stay away from this company.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Amanda from Nottingham, 25 October, 2006

I don't really have anything new to add to the list of complaints about Tesco DVD Rental but I wanted to register my disatisfaction with the service too!
When I had the basic membership of just 1 dvd at a time I didn't really experience any problems, the turnaround was fast, nearly always the sale day they received one back from me. In fact I liked it that much I upgraded to 2 discs at a time.....BIG MISTAKE!
Since then I have had no end of trouble with them not sending me dvds back by the end of the next working day, In fact at the moment it has now been 3 days since they should have sent me a dvd and all I get are automated replies to my email complaints.
I'm completely cheesed off with Tesco and am now going to cancel, so much for value for money I haven't had a dvd in a week!!!!

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Jason from Hastings, 22 October, 2006

I totally agree with Jamie from Surrey! Free trial was excellent, superfast turn around, all top / most wanted titles received. But like Blockbuster who I also left due to the same reasons, once the trial has ended, Tesco service becomes slow, inacurate and frustrating, unless of course you order any one of the films that no-one else has ordered for years! Obviously these companies are only interested in attracting new customers via their free trials, leading you to believe that you will be getting value for money, then BAM! Free trial ends & you soon realise that they only have 1 copy of each top title ( possibly of each film ) and you won't be seeing them any time soon! My advice, support your local video rental shop, often they are just as good value, and you can hire the film when released as opposed to when the sequal is released and you're still waiting to the see the 1st!!

As for the design of the web site, I suppose Tescos would be ok, if the update selection buttons actually had any relevance with the way in which your selection was delivered in the real world. E.g I would like xyz as soon as possible, not 20 years after the film was released!

Customer service: I only ever received automated emails to queries and complaints. Doesn't inspire confidence!

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Jack from Edinburgh, October 17, 2006

Since the move to Lovefilm, Tesco customer service has dropped, if you're returned films reach them on Friday morning they don't send you out any replacements until Monday. They used to go out the same day. I'm about to switch.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Sarah from Dorset, 13 October, 2006

I've been with Tesco's for just over a year, in the beginning the service was fine. But over the last few months the service has become gradually worse. At the moment DVD's are taking nearly five working days to be sent out, and thats when you are lucky enough to be able to actually get onto the website to order them in the first place!!! I've just cancelled my subscription and def won't be returning.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Kim from Bham, 8 October, 2006

I've been a Tesco DVD rental member for over a year and in that time I haven't experienced any problems and have been extremely happy with the service. I usually get a dvd from my selection within three days of sending one back - just in time for the weekend! Excellent.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Jamie from Surrey, September 25, 2006

Avoid, Tesco's service is dreadful. During the trial period you will be happy, after it you will want out. Turn around for discs is poor, number of dispatched discs per month is rubbish if you like new titles. Why offer unlimited service if the company doesn;t really want to offer it? Been with them 3 months despite several e mails (few non automated replies) i've decided to leave. Advice - read reviews on parent companies when you see "powered by xyz" In short 1) cheap 2)non existant customer service 3) you'll end up buying the dvd you want as a result of frustration at not getting your selection.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Martin from West Yorkshire, September 25, 2006

I subscribe to Tesco's 3 dvd package and have been very happy with the service. Although I have recently had a problem with delivery as the site was having essencial maintenance and I was informed that a title had been despatched to me when in fact it hadn't, I was therefore waiting 7 days to recieve this title. However all in all I am happy with Tesco's and the customber service department have been very helpful. I have also been able to get hold of tv programmes that i haven't seen for years, fantastic.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Jessica from Leicester, 24 September, 2006

They don't take suggestions for stocking titles of your liking, but there is a semi-decent selection. If you like anime, this is IT! They've got quite a lot of older titles and newer ones alike. If you only choose your top choices and then go in later to add more, you always get what you asked for. You can also reserve titles that will be coming out soon like I did with The Last Samurai. They deliver a new one in 1-2 days from when you post the last title you rented back. They pay full postage and they are faster on delivery than Amazon.co.uk, which was a disappointing experience even if they are cheaper. I give the customer service 2 stars due to the unwillingness to stock recommended titles or even consider suggestions. I wouldn't ask for anything obscure, though they DO stock some damn obscure titles like the 1943 3rd Reich Productions Adventures of Baron Munchausen (which was a story far older than the Nazis). It was interesting how the special features dissected the propaganda from the original tales, but I digress. Not a bad selection at all. You can also search by Actor name, so I could dredge up Alan Cummings' films. If you subscribe to this service, I suggest the title Mrs. Henderson Presents for some fine British filmmaking.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Steve from Hereford, September 24, 2006

Used to be very good, but have noticed it is now being run by Lovefilm, which corresponds to a significant drop in service standards. Favourites not sent for months. Quality of discs intermitant.
On the whole I would have difficulty in recommending.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Richard from Wiltshire, July 29, 2006

Can't beat the offer - Tesco has the lowest price for unlimited DVD's. Unfortunately, they don't deliver your top choices. For 6 weeks I had Narnia, Potter, and Lost Series 1 as top and all others bottom. I never got my top choices. I changed from Amazon to Tesco and am now back with Amazon. As soon as I went back to Amazon I got Narnia and Potter. Tesco has the problem that because it is unlimited it sends a DVD out as soon as you return one, so if your top choices aren't there then tough! With Amazon, because you get 4 over a month for £7.99 (2 at home at once) it means they can wait 2-3 days to get your top choice before sending it out.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Emma from Essex, July 13, 2006

I've been with Tesco DVD rental for 2 months now. Initially everthing was fantastic, especially the turnaround time. Over the last month though this has not been the case, turnaround time has decreased dramatically and also a disc in a series has been sent out in the wrong order.
The other thing that I've noticed during this time is that my top choices are not sent out, when I first joined I always received at least 1 of my top choices. It's a shame because it's good value for money, I have the 3 DVD option.

I think if the Tesco customer service was a little better in keeping on top of complaints I'd stay but am considering a move as it seems an unecessarily long wait for DVDs now.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jenny from West London, July 11, 2006

Tesco was fine at first then found dvds slower on turnaround as time went on. Also newer releases were thin on the ground despite being graded as first choice, all older films kept being sent first. Customer service was patchy.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Andrew from Lincs, July 7, 2006

Tesco has a good, basic product although turnaround of DVD's can be slower than other competitors. However, for under £8 this has to be a winner!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jenny from West London, July 4, 2006

It all seemed fine until there was a problem, two weeks on I am still trying to get them to sort it out and have not had a film from them since. They have been incredibly slow at responding to my emails and seem happy to let me wait and wait.............

Am planning on leaving soon.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Vince from Cornwall, June 3, 2006

Absolute rubbish. Continous stream of faulty DVD's. Nothing wrong with my player as I checked it with my own collection. Avoid at all costs.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Karen from Northamption , May 31, 2006

I only joined for the extra clubcard points and must say that so far its been great! - I pay &.97 per month and I average 2 films per week. the turn around has been spot on and the only delay I've experienced is the posting during bank holidays - I would definatley recomend this site Submit = Submit

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Ger, May 31, 2006

i am presently a customer of tesco dvd rental 1 disc at a time, i have found that at the start turnover was quick but 3 months down the line i am lucky to get 1 dvd a week and very rarely get my priority dvds,i have complained about both these things but i get fobbed off with any old excuse

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Laura from Cheltenham, May 2, 2006

I joined Tesco DVD rental 1 month ago because they are one of the cheapest and had a deal on to receive extra clubcard points. Everything seemed fine during the trial, turnaround times were good and the discs I received were all my priorities. However once they had taken the first payment it rapidly went downhill. In 2 weeeks I received 3 faulty discs, 2 of those within days of each other. After reporting the first one I received an email from their customer service team but never heard anything back about the others. I e-mailed them and was offered 3 days free as a goodwill gesture and told to check my DVD player (which, funnily enough, I already had done) and that if I followed their "reporting a faulty disc" section of their website that I wouldn't need to email them, however I didn't get any response until I e-mailed them. I am now beginning to wonder if it's worth staying with Tesco. Also the turnaround has slowed down too. Unless the service improves soon I'm definitely moving, probably to Screen Select.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Rachel from Edinburgh, April 24, 2006

Tesco's is slightly cheaper than most of the other rental sites out there and it's web layout is clear and easy to navigate so I've scored them well on the first two categories. However, their customer service, in particular the turnaround times, is dreadful. I was with Tesco's for four months on the 3 disc package and during that time I averaged just 12 discs a month. I think the recoed was a delay of four days beween the site showing a disc had been received back and a new disc being sent out. It was after that I canceled my subscription and switched to another company. If your looking for a reasonably steady stream of discs through your door I would avoid Tesco.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Graham from South Wales , April 15, 2006

i signed up for 1 dvd a month from tesco dvd rental, and it was going quite well for the trial, since then all down hill, i have waited for two weeks for a film, after email, after email,they finaly sent me the wrong film, and am considering a change to another company, if this happens again.and i am not very happy.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Tony from Bristol, April 7, 2006

During the trial period the service was very good, even though my list was quite short. Since then the DVD rental service has deteriorated even after several complaints. Most of the time they wait the full 2 days before dispatch even though I now have 50 titles to choose from. I have had only 2 recently released DVDs from my list - all the others are old titles. The final straw today was failure to deliver the third DVD within the stipulated time. This now means I will be without that DVD for 5 days. Tesco does not have a 'fair deal' policy, but appears to operate one if you are a heavy user!

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Arnold from London , March 24, 2005

I've been very pleased with Tesco DVD Rental, very cheap and send a continuous stream of discs fairly quickly through the letterbox, certainly more than when I tried Sainsburys DVD rental service. I find keeping just a couple titles at highest priority helps. It always does take a bit for new releases to come through, but at these prices I can't complain too much.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Graeme from Kent , February 27, 2005

Brilliant. never had a single problem, always rapidly despatched. and cheap too!

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Robert in London, February 27, 2005

I'm currently trying out the 2 week free trial, but will probably not continue. This is mainly due to the sight not being as easy to navigate as the Lovefilm site. I also find that the system of prioritisation is not great, especially if you want to mix movies and series, as you'll end up with entire series because you can't number control the listing properly.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Paul, February 22, 2005

Very slow turnover rate. Only received 4 DVDs in 2 weeks trial period even though I had around 50 DVDs in my list. Also didn't receive a single top priority disc out of 12 listed.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Tony from the Midlands , February 19, 2005

Although the cheapest "one DVD at a time" at £7.97 pm AND a fast turnaround on returns I NEVER received a priority film. However, if getting the latest releases is not so important and you only require a single film at a time this is the best one to go for. Oh, and you receive Clubcard points too!

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Alan from Renfrewshire, February 16, 2005

Poor turnaround, a Saturday dispatch/collection service would help... DVD rental is a leisure industry. The 5 day week is for the Banks - not DVD rental...

Upgraded to 3 discs and the turnaroung got worse!
Something far wrong at Tesco, dispatch - after slow allocation - seems to take place after their last postal collections. Arrogant customer service infuriates. I am resigning...

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Danny from Ripon, February 14, 2005

Best DVD rental service of the many I have tried. Fantastic and qiuck customer service. Very cheap. I nearly always got my top 3 titles and the website was very easy to use, especially the FAQ. The only downside is that you have to go through about 10 pages of them trying to persuade you to stay before you can cancel.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Mark from Southamption, February 12, 2006

Brilliant service never had a problem usually get about 12 (3 at a time) DVD`s a month so turn around not spectacular, but after reading other reviews not too bad. Get a varied selection from my list.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Jon from Scarborough, January 19, 2005

Poor dispatch service, was never getting new titles and was always waiting for them to be dispatched Poor Service

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Paul, January 17, 2005

At the start you get the new titles and then after about two month with them they start sending you titles from the bottom of your list and not the new titles.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Dave from Northolt, January 9, 2005

DVDs are usually sent out fairly quickly and as others have said if you have a long list of films you will get a regular supply of films to watch. My one concern is that for some films you will wait ages. I have had Sin City and Batman Begins, amongst others, on the list since they were released (2 or 3 months ago) and, despite usually only having 10 films on my list, I am still waiting.

So overall good for general releases but quite poor on new releases.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Hemant from Brighton, December 23, 2005

The price is alright but as usual the turnaround is very slow.. i think that they do it deliberately, i am going back to mailboxmovies, they are much quicker.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

PJ from Brighton, December 14, 2005

Have never had any problems with their DVD rental service. Remember these few points. Not everyone will be able to see the brand new films at once so you have to be flexible about what you want to watch and a bit patient.

Have a good list of things you really want to watch, that way when a DVD turns up you won't be fed up because it's just something you out in to add to your list.

Don't depend on getting a particular DVD. 9/10 you'll be disapointed but if your list is a good list you won't mind.

It's a great way of watching TV series, you can take your time watching them over a week instead of trying to watch 24 episodes in one evening. Also you're more likely to get TV series DVD's here rather than your local video shop.

The choice is good. I would recommend this service on my experience.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Mike from West Sussex, December 14, 2005

Been with them for 6 months now and like other people are saying i'm am finding that I don't get many of the new releases for at least 2 to 3 months (and counting!) but seem to get all my lower choices all the time. Very anoying and wish they could have a queue system so you could work out where you were in the picking list for the new films. Nice features include being able to take a break when you go on holiday so you won't get charges while you are unable to watch the DVD's.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Steve from Peterborough, December 14, 2005

Abysmal!

I have never been so upset and angry about ANY company in my life.

DO NOT USE THESE PEOPLE whilst they are being run by Video Island. The customer service I received from these people was arrogant, disgusting and quite frankly rude. I would never expect a company of Tesco's calibre to be outwardly portrayed in such a filthy manner.

And having just come off of the phone to Tesco's Head Office, I thoroughly recommend people to call them and discuss your issues directly with REAL TESCO's customer service: 0800 50 55 55

If I could select NO STARS in the review above I would. Even giving Video Island and Tesco DVD rentals a single star here would be wrong.

Awful.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Omar, November 30, 2005

I have tried 3-4 different DVD rental companies and Screenselect is by far the best. The main thing i look in a online DVD rental company is turn around of DVD's and so far screenselect is the best. I found if the DVD is lost in the post they don't make a fuss.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Chris from Rotherham, November 30, 2005

I can't say enough bad things about Tesco's Customer Service. If the option was there, I would have chosen no stars. As is common with DVD rental sites, all the good service is provided during the free trial. As soon as you start paying the service becomes attrocious. I'm sure they were reading my wish list upside down because I only received my last selections. For the first few weeks everything was sent out on the day they received my returns. This changed to two, then three, then four days later. I complained via the correct routes but never got a reply. Avoid at all costs.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Michael from Hampshire, November 28, 2005

I started using Tesco DVD hire about 3 weeks ago, having signed up for the 'one at a time'service. In that time I have received and returned 5 mailings. Out of those 5, 4 were faulty,(jumpy picture). This is using a new DVD player. I have tried 12 other DVDs, obtained elsewhere,on the same player, and they all work without problems. I cannot call an 80% failure rate good value, whatever you pay, and it is certainly not good service.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Adam from Inkberrow, November 14, 2005

Would NOT recommend! Everyone seems to be complaining about the slow turnaround in disc postage and that you get discs so far down your priority list you can't remember booking them! I've had the same experience! Unlike most though, I have had replies to my emails although they were not helpful in the least. Would not mind paying a pound or two more each month if I got (a) a quick turnaround and (b) the discs I've put high on my priority list!! Disappointed!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Julie from West London, November 7, 2005

I think Tesco offers value for money, I quite liked the site design in terms of priority rating 1,2 or 3 for your DVDs. Problems ensued when priority rating wasn't followed, seemed fairly slow turn around, and then to top it off I was charged £13.97 for £7.97 package. Not impressed with incredibly sarcastic "customer service", so cancelled immediately and would not recommend to anyone.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jack from West Sussex, November 7, 2005

I have been with Tesco Since Feb 05 moving from Lovefilm. To start I had no problems even with the free trial,but after a couple of months the turnaround slowed considerably & now I am getting older films from much lower on my list I have had as priorities "Meet the Fockers""Ray"& "Assault on Precinct 13" for 14 weeks.The last film I got was "2046" I had'nt even booked,I have complained by phone & email with little success so I will be returning to Lovefilm they are not perfect but are certainly worth the extra couple of pounds

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Sunny from Leicester, November 5, 2005

I have been with Tesco for a few months now. At the start I was getting a good selection of DVDs, but currently I am lucky to get three DVDs in a week. This is despite the fact that I return the DVDs on the same day I get them and I have over 200 DVDs in my selection.

Speaking of my selection, since the start I have had popular DVDs such as Sin City and Be Cool (as well as an Indian movie Sarkar) at or near the top of my list. I am still to recieve these discs!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Laila from London, November 4, 2005

I came to tesco's from lovefilm (improving) and blockbuster initially (disaster). i was charged almost immidiately(although i was promised 1 month's free trial), but i stayed with them for 4 months, there turnover is very bad i only receive 3 disc 1 each week even though i return them immidiately.

I like to watch tv series and they mix and match the seasons (eg, I want priority season 1 disc 1,2&3 instead i get season 1 disc 2, season 4 disc 5 and season 7 disc 1)!! How are you meant to keep tract of the storyline???

In a month i get 9-12discs which is pretty bad, so I am returning to lovefilm to lick my wounds, 'cos i recon they are much more preferable to tesco's.

In conclusion, tesco's is quite frustrating,and annoying!! best to pay the extra pound for preferable service!!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Allan from Southampton, November 2, 2005

I switched to Tesco a few months ago after being with love film. I have to say that the service is just as good, and Tesco is a bit cheaper than the competition - I have no experiences of the delays that some of the other reviewers seem to have.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Simon from Kent, October 31, 2005

Absolute rubbish.
We agree with most of the previous reviews- the service trails off rapidly after the first few weks - emails on the occasion when answered are fob offs where more often than not they repeat back your statements too you they send episodes from series out of sequence and the series themselves out of sequence.


We have more than 25 titles in our priority list more than the minimum they state necassary and none of them are new releases, and yet they sed us obscure titles from way down our extensive list i complained about the poor turnaround and the supposedly 'unlimited' rentals - in my opinion possibly a breach of the trades descriptions act as it appears to deliberate policy when based on the weight of witness staements.
Straight after the complaint it dropped to 3 or 4 discs received a week.
We will be moving to a different company as soon as we can get the cancelation worked out

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Karen from Welshpool, October 26, 2005

We subscribed to Tesco for about 3 months. Our first problem was immediate - we had subscribed for a free trial but our bank account was debited immediately. We e-mailled Tesco were they told us that we had invalidated our free trial by initially signing up for the 2 disc service and then changing it(about 5 minutes later) to the 3 disc service. We tought this was a little unfair and asked where in their terms and conditions that this information could be found. Their responce was that a warning would have appeared on screen at the time to advise us of this. Well neither myself nor my husband noticed this. They were pretty quick in responding to our e-mails but we felt rather "fobbed off" and would have thought a company of their stature would have recoginsed a simple mistake and allowed us to have a free trial as a gesture of goodwill. no.


The initial turn around time was good to start off with-usually around three days but this slowed down to about a week per disc. During our time with them they did have a warehouse fire. We we told to keep any outstanding disc and our monthly payment extended to allow for the short break in service - which we thought was good.
We found it easier to use the blockbuster website to find films to watch than tesco's own.
We also never got to see movies that were our top priority from three months ago. I cannot remember the last recent film we received form Tesco. By the end we were recieving mailnly 2nd or 3rd priority films.
Tesco's prices are very competative and if they had kept their initial turn aound time up we would still be with them .


We are now unsure who try next - having looked through other peoples comments for various companies it seems that all the companies have similar problems.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Steve-o from Cockermouth, September 20, 2005

Better customer service. I have had two DVDs go missing in the post (ligitimate), and both occasions tesco has acted swiftly and restored my account (even received a new DVD the next day) Carnt complain.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Ian from Durham, September 4, 2005

I've been with Tescos for a couple of months after migrating over from Blockbuster and have found the same problems here that I did before. I must admit I do like to watch movies and can easily get through half a dozen per week, that is if my DVD rental company didnt deliberately slow my allocations down. Started off great for the first four or five weeks but down to 3 a week max now no matter when you send them back. Tesco dont work on a Saturday either which means if you send a title back on a Thursday afternoon its pretty likely that it will be the following Wednesday before you get a new one. Customer service is non existant as you don't get replies to you emails

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

John from Oundle, September 1, 2005

I gave them a free trial and have to say they were excellent, much better than Cinema Paradiso which I'd tried previously. Excellent site design, and I like the three categories of preference, rather than numbering your choices, which seems meaningless as DVD companies seem to pay little attention to a precise ranking. If I wasn't off to free trial some more, I might settle down with Tesco. If nothing else, the price is right.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Paul from Darlington, August 29, 2005

I agree with previous posts, their turnaround times for DVDs is baffling. I can send 3 disks back on the same day, allow them a day for processing and then receive one disk a day for three days. I sent them emails about it but have seen no improvement.

I previously used Lovefilm and they managed to turn disks around the same day, but I found they were unable to supply what they advertised as available. I was hoping with ScreenSelect running the show for Tesco I would see a better service, but I feel disappointed.

Definately room for improvement.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Hannah, August 4, 2005

I tried the free offer. At the end of it Tesco refused to acknowledged receipt and thereby forced me to pay for the first month whether I wanted to or not. I thought this was a very cheap shot and wrote to Tescos to tell them and never received a reply. I am a disabled pensioner.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Anne from Essex, August 5, 2005

I have been renting from Tesco on the 3 DVD per month package for 5 months (plus 1 month free trial). I agree totally with other reviewers that initially the turnaround is very quick, then it gradually falls off so that a new DVD is rarely sent out the same day as one is received by them. This makes me wonder if they are deliberately slowing down service to limit the number of DVDs you receive per month.

However, quality of DVDs has been generally good - only 2 faulty ones so far, one of which was only slightly damaged so I managed to watch it anyway - and no errors in film titles sent out. Customer Services have replied quickly to emailed complaints about turnaround time, but they admit no liability as "one working day hasn't elapsed". However, this can make a big difference to number of DVDs received per month - eg if they receive a film back on a Friday and send one back immediately you get it on Saturday and can return it by the next Monday; if they don't send it out till Monday, you don't even receive it till the following Tuesday.

The other drawback with Tesco is that they seem to have few copies of popular recent releases - eg I pre-reserved Garden State before it came out on DVD, put it in my top priority list when it came out, and am still waiting for it.

I am considering cancelling and moving to ScreenSelect (to cut out the middle man as advised) but am doubtful from reviews whether they will provide any better service (and they charge £1 per month more than Tesco's).

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Cheryl, July 18, 2005

Trial period was great top titles and fast turn around once this period was over service went down hill. On top titles and slow with deliveries.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Roger from Liskeard , July 18, 2005

I can't fault this company for turnround times which were excellent for the few months I was with them. However where they fall over very badly is in the quality of the product. I have finally become fed up with receiving DVDs which were totally unplayable. In addition it was extremely rare to receive a top film, the selection was usually from the ones added to my list to make up the numbers. I have now cancelled my membership and, unless you enjoy watching films that either freeze or skip back to the opening credits on a regular basis, I would recommend avoiding this company.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Ernie from Kent, July 10, 2005

After an excellent first month subscription with Tesco the service literally changes overnight. All through the free trial and first month of paid rental I was getting same day turnaround the majority of the time, but as soon as I was billed for the second month the service then went into an immediate nosedive. Despite having a substantial rental list, the same day turnaround changed into anywhere between 3 and 5 days to get a dispatch. And on a 2 disk package I was reduced to getting 1 disk at a time. After 3 months of poor service I emailed the Tesco DVD customer services twice to try and find out the cause of the problem and both times I failed to get any response. It seems once Tesco has charmed you with a months good service they then show their true colours and give out a second rate service. They obviously have no interest in building customer loyalty.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Mark from Yorkshire, July 6, 2005

I've been using the Tesco DVD rental service for four months, during the free period DVDs are allocated within the first day. Then subscription starts, and the allocation/turn around became poor, on a number of occasions I've waited five days, from them receiving a DVD, to them allocating me a DVD. It's now normal for me to post three DVDs into a post box at the same time. They receive one or two the next day, and the others can take two to five days to be confirmed as received, gives me the impression there either short staffed, or trying to reduce the allocation of DVDs, DVDs are confirmed as been returned before noon, and DVDs are allocated in the afternoon, nearly always into the 2nd day of return, complained about this via e-mail, waste of time, they still say it's within one working day, even though it shows DVD(s) returned 1 day ago, and they post to you after that.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Nick form Loughborough, July 6, 2005

Apalling. Tesco should stick to groceries!!! Poor customer service. After the honeymoon period, 4 days to turn around rentals, no top titles. All these sites are powered by the monopoly of lovefilm and screen select. It is fine for the first few weeks then things deteriorate. 

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Yolanda from East London, July 4, 2005

I found Tesco a great company for DVD rentals, very easy to manage, pretty quick, and you can't beat the price!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Mokey from London, June 20, 2005

I had high expectations of Tesco DVD rental but ended up somewhat disappointed.

After a 14 day free trial and a further 2 months of paid rental I have never received one of my top priority titles! (This is despite having a whopping 240+ titles in my rental selection list). The organization (or lack of) within your rental selection list is appalling. You are given three basic options in which to order your titles, 1: 'delivered as soon as possible', 2: 'deliver as it become available' and 3: 'I don't mind when you send out these titles'. From there on your titles are randomly ordered within these three sections and you have no idea what titles are available or what titles are likely to be dispatched. The biggest problem seems to be no depth of stock of popular titles, most titles you receive are those listed within section 2 or 3 of your rental list.

Their review system is similarly disorganized with no rating filters or editing by Tesco staff, so to read a half decent review you have to trawl through reams of useless one sentence reviews that provide no real benefit to the site or visitor.

To give Tesco some credit, the disk turn around times are very good, most of the time with DVDs dispatched the same day as Tesco receive them back from you. And if you can put up with the lack of top titles Tesco represents excellent value for money.

To sum up, Tesco DVD rental is a bit like walking into your local DVD rental store at 9pm on a Friday night, there's plenty of titles on the shelves but nothing decent available to rent!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

George from London, June 15, 2005

Like many I chose Tesco because of the price and the fact they are an affiliate of Screenselect and so I had high hopes for the service.

I subscribe to the two DVD service and was initially very pleased. However, the honeymoon period has well and truly ended. I never seem to get the DVDs in my top-priority group and instead it would appear they choose which DVD to send by what they have. Recently I got sent out 24 Season 3 episode 5 when I have as yet not seen any of the previous 4! Now I am sorry but surely in such situations common sense must prevail. It hardly seems worth having a priority list, it is now down to pot luck as to which of my selection I get sent.

Hopefully, Tesco will be able to sort out this issue as the service otherwise is good. The website is easy to use and DVD turnaround is quick, one can get their next DVD on Wednesday having posted the previous one on Monday.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Elaine from Glasgow, June 14, 2005

I have subscribed to Tesco for 2 months now.  At first the disc turn around was in 2 days and got most of my proirity movies, however, recently the disc turnaround is 4 days min. and i am getting all the really old releases out.  I am just about to cancel at the end of the month as I am very disappointed.  Website is good, user friendly.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

IIrf from London, June 7, 2005

I admit that I chose Tesco based on their price.  I have been with them since early 2005.

I have now closed my account with them because I don't feel that the low price justifies the relatively poor service.  In my time with them I've had four discs arrive that have been scratched so much that my player would not read them, one get lost in the post (possibly not their fault), many instances of it taking 3-4 days to send out the next title, and NEVER receiving any of my "priority" selections.

Overall a very shoddy experience.  My worry is though that if they are "powered by screenselect, what dos this say about that company?  How can it be the best?  Confusing.....

Will be trying another company soon, possibly not linked to screenselect.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Martyn from Dudley, June 3, 2005

Very fast turnaround and delivery, but none too keen on sending out top priority titles.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Mick from Brandon, May 23, 2005

Have been using the service about 2 months, mostly ok, although have had a couple of titles turn up mysteriously. Have had a couple of damaged DVDs and turnaound on a couple of occasions has been slow.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

Rick from Wirral, April 26, 2005

Good website and postal service in most ways except for one, which I consider a major drawback: they clearly have a very short supply of high demand films.

I had 3 titles in my "top priority" group for two months and was not sent any of them. In fact, the films I was sent were usually those that have already been on TV (obviously very low demand).

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

Return to Tesco Review Page

Visit Tesco DVD Rental Site

 
Add Your Comments on Tesco DVD Rental

You: (ie, John from Essex)
Email address: (won't be kept, but required to deter spammers)

Please rate Tesco on the following criteria:

Value? . Design? . Customer Service?

Your Review:

By submitting you agree to our Policies on visitor comments

Online DVD rental prices and terms change frequently; check the company website for the latest.

UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com is not responsible for any losses resulting from the information provided (see Disclaimer). If you do spot a discrepancy, please email us and we'll update the site.

UK Games Rental Guide

UK eReader Guide

UK eReader Guide

UK Diet Review

UK Internet Dating Guide

UK eReader Guide

UK eReader Guide

Hotel Chocolat - Luxury delivered chocolate gifts

UK Internet Dating Guide

Flat Telly

Flat Telly

GameAccount | Multiplayer Blackjack Tournament

Flat Telly

UK eReader Guide

 
HomeRental BasicsVideo Games RentalNews/LinksWhat's NewSite MapContact/Link to Us
 

The views and opinions expressed on the site are our own, and we have not been given free subscriptions, products, or other compensation to publish them. Many of the reviewed companies offer affiliate commissions, but these do not influence our reviews or rankings, which we keep open and unbiased. Our recommendations are made on the merits of a product or service, as we review based on our experience, education, and background. At our discretion we may accept third-party advertising, but this does not constitute our endorsement.

Copyright 2005-11© UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com. All Rights Reserved