UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com
 
Lovefilm Ratings:
   
  Value Value Rating
  Design Design Rating
  Service Service Rating
     
 

Lovefilm DVD Rental

 

.Lovefilm is the largest and one of the best UK rental sites, with an unparalleled selection and excellent site features

Visit Lovefilm DVD Rental Site


2007 Customer Comments for Lovefilm DVD Rental

Roberta from London, Decmber 31, 2007

I've had an excellent time since subscribing with Lovefilm, and it didn't trail off too much after the free trial either (so far so good). Much more convenient than going to the local Blockbuster, and I especially like to see what other people had to say about a film.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Richard from Cambridge, Decmber 19, 2007

I joined LoveFilm 1 month ago, I have received very few of my high priority films, almost all of the films I get are the old low priority films that I thought would be interesting to see when there was nothing better. If you want new films DON'T BOTHER WITH LoveFilm because you won't get them.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Amit from Beckenham , December 15, 2007

Do have to say, that they have a great website. Service is also good,but can be erratic at times which really infuriates you. You come back from work expecting that DVD should be in the letter box, but quite often you just end up waiting. Also, I agree with one of the other reviewers, that they do not pay attention to the priority list. I am currently receiving titles which I have listed as 3rd priority over-riding the ones listed as priority 1.
Have tried Tesco & Amazon, but found Lovefilm the better of the lot.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Mark from NE England, December 14, 2007

I tried both Amazon and LoveFilm at the same time with free trails. In the end I kept LoveFilm just because I liked their site better but I regret that now. First, I much prefer the Amazon way of listing the DVD's you want in order which they try to keep to most often. Lovefilm have a 3 level priority system which they pay absolutely no attention to. The biggest issue however, I think I've hit some sort of secret limit in their unlimited plan as for the first week they were sending disc's out the same day I sent them back but now they are taking two, three and once even four days to send out my next disc's which is infuriating. I've contacted them but never get more than a stupid stock answer about the post sometimes taking up to 4 days even though its first class which is a lie. Since I'm off this month I was really looking forward to catching up on a lot of movie's, but obviously it hasn't worked out that way due to their unspecified limit which isn't that high on
the 'unlimited' acconts. I am now looking for another service.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

H, Dcember 13, 2007

Used to be with Sainsburys DVD rental until Lovefilm took over and the service can only now be described as sporadic. I had the unlimited service with Sainsburys and received two DVD's every week no problem. However, now that Lovefilm are in control I am lucky to receive one disk a week. I keep complaining and they keep blaming the mail service. I have now cancelled my account with Lovefilm. Take care and be aware that Lovefilm are not all that reliable.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Al from Wales, November 25, 2007

Poor turnaround.(Discs returned Mon replaced Fri)They post 2 DVDs with only one return envelope hence increasing turnaround time (unless customer provides own envelope)Most often send least "desirable" film from list ignoring priorities.Customer service seemed pretty unconcerned when dissatisfaction with service was reported.Am going to change to Blockbuster asap.Lovefilm are moving towards monopoly and it shows!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Mark from N E Lincs , November 22, 2007

The service is slow. All too often discs are received and no new discs are dispatched until the following day despite a rental list with over 40 titles on it. I have received incorrect discs on a regular basis and also returned multiple discs in the same envelope only to have one of the discs not noted as being returned. I have never received any 'blockbuster' film (Harry Potter, Spiderman 3 etc) despite having them on my high priority list from date of release.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

James from Manchester, November 18, 2007

I have been a member for several months and at the start, the service was great. Only to my naivety Lovefilm then started to send me wrong films and games. I complained and they then re-sent me 2 extra films, yet again the wrong ones. That happened on 3 occasions. So I had enough, I'm out of here. I'm still searching for a reliable company that does what the tin says. Any suggestions?

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jess from London, November 18, 2007

Can't complain, since I tried the trial it's been good service, plenty of movies. Not all the top ones, but then I can understand why theres greater demand for them. Will definitely stick around with Love Film as they're cheaper and more conveient than going to the local blockbusters.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

lizz, November 17, 2007

im still on the trial. but not all that impressed. theres been 1 lost in the post, some not sent in order which is frustrating, and at least 3 that were damaged and unwatchable. the customer service have been quick to respond and to try to rectify the problems. but still offputting as all this has happened in 3 weeks. i would be very unhappy with Lovefilm service if id been paying for it.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Ben Russel, November 14, 2007

Poor service, slow film allocation and you have to wait for months to get recent/poular titles.
Should mention that DVD state, that is playing condition is not bad.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Mal from Llanelli, November 14, 2007

I am disabled and spend a lot of time in the house. So i join love films.I took the offer of 2 film unlimited at a time.The 30 day trial was great but as soon as they started being payed the problems start to happen. At least 5-6 working days to get a film.so if anyone is thinking of joining forget the word unlimited as they do limit you to how many films by slowing your orders down and then blame it on the royal mail.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Petecom, November 10, 2007

Started out very good an d once again fine if you stick to the script. Customer service on autopilot though!

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Steve from Hull, October 14, 2007

I have used lovefilm for a while now. On the down side I have several PS3 games on priority but have only ever received 1 in the last 3 months....On the up side I have been sent several Wii games & the DVD service is good too, if you keep plenty of options in your list the turn around is pretty good as well.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jonathan from Cambs, October 8, 2007

Very slick site with plenty of features, can't imagine how to make the search and browsing easier, lots of other content too, from movie news to short downloads. On the snail mail side, the discs come fairly quick, so no complaints, not all your top choices of course, but you've got to go into this knowing its a library and new releases simply will take longer to get out with strong demand. As an ex-Netflix customer from when I lived in the states, I have to say Lovefilm compares very well on this count, though I do wish the price were a bit cheaper, compared with the US sites, though that has as much to do with the weak dollar and things being generally more expense over here, but I digress...

In general, I've found Lovefilm an excellent, world class DVD rental company, not surprised they're the market leader in the UK (even if undeservedly ranked second on this site).

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Joanna from Leicester, October 3, 2007

We all want the latest films as they come out hence this is why I joined Love Films. I was told to add all the Titles I wanted to see on my rental list which I did. Some were old titles some were new titles, I had around 17 titles on my list all with the High Priority box ticked. I have found all the old titles have been sent watched and returned but the new titles have not come yet.It seams they have a big waiting list for the new stuff and will not operate the business with supply and demand in other words buy more stock. I have Harry Potter on my list which is not out until I think December I might get it just get it before it comes on Sky. To give an an example it 03/10/07 and I am still waiting for 28 Weeks later and The Hills Have eyes 2. I hope this is all of some use to people who want to give it a try.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Dave from Derby, October 3, 2007

Oh, the sacrifices we make for poor consumer services. Love Films enticing free trial is a waste of your time, your energy, and your money dont do it!

You wont always get the DVDs you want, and their online system for telling you which titles may not be in stock/or there might be a long wait for, is flawed and most of time not working.

Their customer service is awful dont expect prompt email replies (or replies at all), dont expect to receive the DVDs you think you should be getting (because theyll send anything out after youve paid for your first month), and dont expect it to be easy to cancel membership.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Golan from Chislehurst, September 19, 2007

Really love having an online DVD service, think money wise its great value. I have been a member of lovefilm for about 2 months.
Great web site and selection of titles, even though most sites seem to have about the same.
pity the customer service lets them down. I have waited a week for title deliveries before, have to wait an eternety for new titles and have had the phone put down on me from one of their customer service assistants because I challenged their claim that they did not have any of my titles on my list in stock for 4 days!
Didn't realise they had half a million customers so maybe their overworked. Will now cancel and try blockbusters. fingers crossed it works out better.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Michael, September 17, 2007

I have had enough of disks that dont play and always getting my least wanted of my wanted list.Love film started ok but they have gone down hill in the past few months.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Brig from Buckinghamshire, September 12, 2007

After weeks of emails, I am still trying to get my free trial. The latest is that Lovefilm have a fault on their computer and so they will give me a free trial and amend their records manually. This is not possible. They need to clear the fault on their computer.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Rebecca from Litchfield, August 27, 2007

We have been using Lovefilm for about five months and have now decided to call it quits. When we first joined we were getting a satisfactory two discs a week; they were the films that we wanted to see, (we had rated them as high priority)and we were pleased overall.
Over the last three months we have received dvd's out of sequence; the delivery rate has slowed to one disc a week; we were delivered films that were not on our list, and we always seem to get discs that are rated low priority!

After numerous emails to Lovefilm, we were told that ''the next available disc is always sent out'', and the next available disc always happens to be the one at the botom of our extensive list!
Lovefilm always respond quickly to our dissatisfaction, however they have failed to remedy the situation, hence our cancelling the subscription.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Glen from Gosport, August 17, 2007

Had this rental company for over a year now and the overall service had been above average. Turnaround during the free trial is always superfast then when you start paying it 'suddenly' gets slower. I've gone through periods of joy when they really pull out the stops to send you dvds fast to pulling my hair out waiting.. and waiting.. then complaining because i sent disks back 3/4 days ago and still it's 'awaiting damn allocation'. to be fair Lovefilm customer service has been good to me (unlike some others experience). The best advice I can give is after a month quit & they'll probably offer a month free just to try and keep you. I've had a total of 3 months free just because of genuine complaints I've made so I think this rental service is the best out there & I've tried all of them.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Yasemin, August 17, 2007

I have not faced any kind of problem with Lovefilm.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Mike from Kent, August 8 , 2007

My only gripe with Lovefilm's otherwise good service is the lack of flexibility of their search engines. Drama category holds 7800+ titles, but there are few screening aids (eg TV vs film, release period) which means you have to trawl thro' hundreds of titles that you've no interest in. Just too depressing to do regularly (incidently this is a problem with Blockbuster also).

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

John from Margate, July 21, 2007

be very careful signing up to lovefilm. i had many problems with the service . they transferred my card details from one account to another without my permission( i had an itv account, screenselect and lovefilm). when my debit card expired they threatened me with legal action unless i reopened my account even though i had no dvds.dvds then stopped turning up and when i finally managed to cancel my account i was without warning through phone, email or letter given a final notice by a baliff to pay 20 or have my possessions taken and my credt rating ruined.it was a very stressful experience that i would never repeat again

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Greg from South Wales, June 19, 2007

Nice website, but turnaround times are slow, and often didn't get my top titles. I finally canceled Lovefilm due to the attitude of customer service after I'd received a broken disc. I'm now with Blockbuster.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

John from Margate, May 24, 2007

I specifically avoided Lovefilm after reading the reviews. I started with Tesco DVD rental and was happy with the service. The occasional scratched disc turned up but I experienced very little 'throttling'. The Tesco engine was then 'taken over' by Lovefilm and things started to go downhill, that's when I should have got out. More scratched discs than before, occasional wrong disc sent and eventually the 'throttling'. It got so bad that in one week I received only 1 disk on a 3 disk rental package. Turnround was erratic and eventually (last week), I cancelled my subscription. I am now joining Blockbuster which has better customer reviews.

I also used Amazon and can't fault them but their 6 max a month rental was inhibiting. I would rate Amazon top for everything except the limiting packages.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Rich from North Yorkshire, May 21, 2007

They're OK. They do throttle, and you typically end up with 15-20 DVDs per month, which is fine for us. Customer service is pretty blithering. Some DVDs are scratched, but you get that everywhere. We've probably had fewer problems than other Lovefilm customers because we have a good mix of new films and older/art-house type films. So we generally seem to have films coming in regularly, but I suspect that if you only have new stuff on your list, you won't be that happy.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Michelle from London, May 10, 2007

I was originally with Screen Select and then moved onto Lovefilm after an increasingly poor service. Unfortunately, Lovefilm has merged with Screen Select (late last year) which forced me to cancel my subscription. I left Screen Select as at one point I received a total of seven scratched to buggery DVD's with one that looked like someone had used it as a tea coaster in the space of 6 weeks, which, of course, when you are looking forward to watching something is not good. After the merge, Lovefilm's DVD's (or should I say Screen Selects?) were showing a higher ratio of damage when previously I had only had max. 4 dodgy DVD's over a period of 8 months.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Em from Aldershot, April 25, 2007

At Christmas, Lovefilm sent me only low priority choice movies even though I had belonged for months and therefore been queued for months - the higher priority of my selections sent fell completely from late November and late December I suspended my account for months. Only just gone back and they are now sending high priority choices but one disc was so badly scratched that it wouldn't play. I informed them and they waited until they received it back before sending a replacement disc, and the replacement disc is also so badly scratched that it won't play. The other disc that I have received today is also really badly scratched. I am cancelling my subscription; really fed up with them. Many discs are really badly scratched and I have sent 3 back in two months. Also the turn around rate is really slow. Unlimited selection of 2 discs a month deal and I am only receiving 2 discs a week.

I found Blockbuster to whom I belonged previously, to have a faster turn around, better quality service generally and of course there is the bonus disc thing that Blockbuster do that others don't. Therefore I would recommend Blockbuster overall although they were also not great on getting my preferred selections out, at least they sent the discs with sufficient frequency. I will be going back there.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Si from London, April 23, 2007

Been with Blockbuster, Screenselect, and Lovefilm. Lovefilm is slow and always complicated. I never go a week without some problem - disappearing discs, discs that never arrive but seem to get posted back to them, very delayed discs. I just received a disc sent 4 days ago. I am still waiting on a disc sent 5 days ago. You can only report a disc sent 4 clear days ago. That in reality means 6 days! Any compalints are met with a copy and paste job. I know the site looks professional but don't be fooled!

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Keith from Milton Keynes, April 21, 2007

I used to be a member of CD Wow but found that when it was taken over by Love film that the level of service dropped dramatically. Films took much longer to arrive, e-mails were not answered or were answered with standard e-mails that did not actually answer the point I was making or the question I had asked.

I also spoke to their customer support but got nowhere. In the end I left them and joined Blockbuster.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Jez from West Yorkshire, April 20, 2007

Lovefilm claim their service is unlimited not true, it is throttled to the extreme. You will get one set per week, maximum. I found about a fifth of their discs that you do get are so dirty or scratched they skip or don't play at all. Try to cancel and you are forced to ring a foreign call centre and go through a lengthy wait and questioning. You also have to waste more of your time as they insist on proof of postage from the post office before they will cancel your subscription - even on discs that they haven't actually put in the post to you yet!! Stay well clear or you will become very familiar with the phrase 'awaiting allocation'.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Sarah from Bucks, April 12, 2007

I was with Screen Select for ages and they were brilliant. After a week of LoveFilm taking over the service fell dramatically. It used to be that you were allocated a film the same day as the old one arrived back. Remember that? Now Im lucky if it takes them 3 days to allocate something. I moved to Blockbuster who were great for the free trial and the first two weeks, but then they became shody too. So I moved back to Lovefilm. What a mistake. 2 weeks of constant films.. and now nothing. I think they must have a deliberate policy to allocate the films primarily to free trial and new customers. Maybe they are a victim of their own success and they simply have too many customers and not enough films. I always have the recommended 10 available films in my list and have not recieved a film in 8 days. I emailed them and they said 'add another 10'.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Brendan from Northern Ireland, April 9, 2007

My first experience with Lovefilm was grand and I found their turnaround time excellent when sending out DVDs. It was when I went back to them a second time after they sent me a 3 months for the price of one offer. Their service was terrible and it was taking them up to 3 working days to send out a DVD. Despite been out on a 2 disc package they sometimes failed to send me out my 2nd DVD and only did so when I emailed them to advise them I was on the 2 disc package. Lovefilm might have the name as having the biggest collection but their service needs to improve if they want to hold on to their customer or any future potential customers.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Alex from Hampshire, April 9, 2007

I've been with LoveFilm twice now, once when they took over Sainsburys DVD rental and then when they took over ScreenSelect. Both times they started fine then you notice you stop getting your top choices. To the point when they are sending you 3rd choice films when you have 50+ 1st/2nd choice ones on your list. They don't seem to stock enough of the popular (ie recent) titles. It seems to be a deliberate policy to give preferencial treatment to new customers.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Hugh, April 2, 2007

What a mistake i made moving from Blockbuter, the service is pathetic. It now takes 2 days to allocate a replacement DVD, Blockbuster take 2 hours @ it is posted the same day. Email complaints are not answered satisfactorily, meaning they are probably not read properly & no telephone # so that i can tell them what i think. If it does not improve i will be back with Blockbuster quicker than Lovefilm take to allocate a DVD.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Steve, March 27, 2007

I used to be a member of lovefilm/screen select, and from the super service that was enjoyed under both organisations it became awful. As though they had ignored the contract they entered into with me and were doing anything expect abiding the contract with me.Complaining did nothing except a patronising reply.They even took money from my credit card,without permission 4.20. This was the last straw i cancelled my contract with the.I WOULD WARN AGAINST ANYONE GOING WITH LOVEFILM.they promise everything and give rubbish service

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Mark from London, March 30, 2007

Was great for the first month of my free trial, everything from the top of my priority list but about a week before my trial was up I was getting any old film at the bottom of the list.
You get the usual excuses from them but I went over 6 weeks without receiving a single title from the high or medium priority list.

My wife joined on another trial and lo and behold she has had every single disk for 3 weeks now from the top of the list. So dont let them tell you they cant do it.

Even more shocking is the quality of the discs they send out to people not starting a trial, more than 1 in 3 was badly scratched or damaged but since my wife has been receiving discs they are all brand spanking new. They must have discs for new members and seperate discs for the idiots who pay, and god knows what they have for people who pay 6/12 months in advance, dont want to think about it.

Basically, start a free trial by all means as its very good at the start but I wouldnt recommend staying with them and DO NOT pay upfront for 6 months or a year.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Amy, March 24, 2007

lovefilm seemed to have slowed down since they merged with screenselect. when i was with screenselect i got dvd's sent at the weekend ie arrived monday, but know if i post one back thursday and they get it friday my account is awaiting selection all weekend, they post mon and i get it tuesday. also i don't like them sending 2 at a time, i'd rather have 1 coming every 3 days.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Mark from London, March 20, 2007

Rubbish. I have just switched to Blockbusters. I have been with love films for a year and all i get is old dvd's. You wait MONTHS for new titles. Blockbusters don't make you choose 10 titles minimum either. I am getting dvd's from blockbusters that i have been waiting for from lovefilms for MONTHS!!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

James, March 17, 2007

I have been with Lovefilm for about 2 years now, I on a whole I have been more than happy, the few problems I have had have been sorted out quickly. I have a large list of dvd's for them to send me 600+ so cannot really comment on the wait time for new releases as I am not in any hurry, their turnaround time is great. I have not tried any of the others so cannot compare, but lovefilm has never given me a reason to go looking for alternatives.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Phil from London, March 16, 2007

I can't gripe about Lovefilm, solid company and I've saved a bundle on Blockbuster store rentals. Had a hiccup in service last October, but is back to normal now, average 3-4 discs a week on the 3 out monthly plan, which is fine by me. One thing tha's a bit slow is new releases, but then you'd expect that with high demand, this being like a library and all.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Daz from Staffs, March 14, 2007

I've been with lovefilm/screenselect for 2 years and I've not been impressed, scratched and faulty discs and not one new release in all that time with a slow turnaround too,I'm cancelling and trying Blockbuster instead.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Michael from London, March 12, 2007

I signed up for the 1 month free trial on the promise of 4 complementary cinema tickets. I gave all the details required to start my account up with all my dibit card details. On going onto a paying account I asked where my complimentary tickets were, to which I was told to wait 28 days. Subsequent to that after A LOT of emailing back and forward for weeks, I am told I don;t qualify as I didn't specify 10 titles on sign up.

The customer service emailing is TERRIBLE and they stick to SCRIPTED ANSWERS.

I feed the promotion was misleading and the criteria to get the tickets was not made clear.

I intend to report them to the ADVERTISED STANDARDS AUTHORITY.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Andrew from Lymm, March 11, 2007

I started my free trial but was miffed when I couldn't get any of the games that I had added to my list. I then realised that a games package was more expensive at £18.99 per month for '3 disc Unlimited'package, however this seemed like reasonable value so I signed up for this.
LITTLE DID I KNOW THAT BY SIGNING UP FOR THIS I HAD IMMEDIATELY ENDED MY FREE TRIAL AFTER ONLY 2 DAYS.
Armed with my new unlimited 3 disc game package that had cost me nearly £20 already, I waited for my games. one week later still no games then the next week I was sent a broken game and with no instructions. All complaints are replied in a standard format and do addres your issue.
I downgraded my subscvription without having received a single working game. I am now on the start of month 2 of my joining LOvefilm and guess what! I have had no DVD's for a wek due to their Fairuse policy. IN MY EYES UNLIMITED MEANS UNLIMITED.
DO NOT SUBSCRIBE TO THIS UNFAIR COMPANY.
I HAVE PAID SO FAR ALMOST £35 FOR 9 DVD'S AND NOW I HAVE JUST BEEN HIT BY THEIR 'FAIR USE' POLICY SO NEXT MONTH WOULD HAVE A REDUCED NUMBER.
ADD IT UP THIS IS NOT VALUE FOR MONEY,TAKE MY ADVICE AND STEER CLEAR OF LOVEFILM AND LOVEFILM POWERED DVD RENTAL COMPANIES.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Peter from Birmingham, March 11, 2007

I joined Screenselect a while back. But the advantage of the service is that you can have a rental list of 500 films, even PSP titles for the extra price of a few quid. They do have a wide range of films. I watch about 3 a week, so that's 12 films a month which is close enough to unlimited. Problems with films is rare, the next step could be music CD's. One complaint which is common with also Blockbuster is that they do not have a DTS collection (that is why they get 4 stars for design). Though I have not tried their downloads options, and the quality of films will be less. If you pay for 6 months you get a month off, I also checked the starting date for this 6 months and it was correct, you can also write your own reviews and they are published instantly - cool!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Gary from Leicester, March 10, 2007

The max films yuo can get from there supposedly unlimited 3 DVD service is 6 films a week as they throttle any that try to go over that...Ive switched to Blockbuster and get on average 7/9 films a week which is truly unlimited(only limeted by post)

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

Lisa from Kent, March 10, 2007

I started with lovefilm on a trial period, was very impressed films received by return of post, so impressed I foolishly paid for 1 year in advance. Big mistake!! Ever since then, I never know when I will receive my next film. I would return it on a Monday and be lucky to get one by Saturday. I can honestly say since joining last year I have only ever received older type films, I am still waiting for the Da Vinci Code! Of course I contacted them, and was fobbed off by being told I must allow something like 6 days to receive the next film. Strange though how they managed it before I paid upfront? Any chance of a refund, not likely, I can cancel off course, but they keep the money! So what choice do I have but to stay. They are a law unto themselves, and make no apology about it. I regret signing up for a year. Personally I would rather choose the film, now its not the same never knowing what you re getting, especially when you really want to watch a new
release, which you know you will never get! My advice avoid them! I wish I had.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Aaron, March 7, 2007

I have had exactly the same problem as everyone else. I have been subscribed for 3 months and have about 20 xbox 360 games on priority. I have only been sent one game since i started! Probably because the games cost more than dvd's. Maybe i will e-mail them the complaints people are making about them. Im gonna give them a few more months and if nothing changes i will be cancelling my subscition.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Noel from Liverpool, March 6, 2007

This was a great DVD company as Screenselect until Lovefilm took over, now DVDs arrive slower & less frequently.

On several occasions over the last couple of months I have returned 2 DVDs together in the same envelope & received my next 2 DVDs separately usually several days apart.
I found this baffling, this was never the case with Screen select so I could not understand why it would be a problem for Lovefilm.
I emailed customer services about this was less than happy with the lack of respect I recieved.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

John from Oxfordshire, March 4, 2007

I too began online DVD rental with Screenselect before they merged with Lovefilm. Standards have definitely deteriorated since then. Their 1/2/3 star priority system no longer seems to work; I have had, for example, Sotrmbreaker, The Squid & The Whale and Pirates of the Caribbean 2 as 1-star priority films (the highest priority ranking) since Christmas, but have yet to receive any of them. I have also noticed a dropping off in their turnaround times - 48 hours used to be the norm, now it's more likely 72, especially as each weekend approaches.

Their range is great - I have recently rented anything from classic film noir like "Out of the Past to modern French thrillers like "Hidden" from Lovefilm - so no quibbles there.
However, I'm spending this morning comparing other online rental sites and will, in all probability, close my account with Lovefilm. Or maybe I'll just go back to using the corner shop again...

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Andy, March 3, 2007

Screenselect was great but the merger with Lovefilm has caused major problems... the new website causes "enable cookies" pages and unless you are willing to disable your security and set your protection below medium access is blocked......customer service is non existent and they never reply to e-mails I have been trying to sort this problem for months and have now given up.

My opinion: Try sombody else

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

J from Cambs , March 2, 2007

I was with LoveFilms when they took over from Tesco, they do say you will get all the top titles but I never did. You have to have 20 DVDs in your pick list and the ones at the top were the newest films out but you will never get there, or I didnt and I was with them for over a year, a good scam, also, when you want to end you contract they made it difficult by sending you another film just as the contract is coming to an end knowing that whilst you still have a film you cant end. I removed all my films from the list days before and then ended my contract and then phoned them to inform them not to take any more money from my account. I am no longer with them. I am thinking of going with Blockbuster for a trial

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Steve, February 28, 2007

Keeping it simple - the choice is vast! The web design is very good and easy to use. BUT! - having been a member for 2 years I have to say their service has deteriorated to unacceptable standards. Their customer service is not worth the paper it is written on. Turnaround times for them actually receiving the disk and sending another is on average about 48-72 hours, so with the post up to 7 days! Which is really not good! Lovefilm rarely answer the preset emails about this and if they do send a generic reply blaming the customer for not having a good selection for them to pick from! They state there is a minimum of 10 for this rule and I have often had about 18 and they will then reply that thou 10 is the number they would prefer customers to have more than 20 as the minimum number! Talk about changing the rules to suit them. In essence - i wish they stayed as screen select as the service was a lot better and more competition out there. Now they are just typical of t he companies who dominate and dont care AT ALL about their paying customers! My advice - take the free trial and then run as after the trial - the service goes from bad to worse! Sorry but I no longer love LOVEFILM!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Ryan from Oxford, February 25, 2007

I am currently with Lovefilm after being with Blockbuster and MyMovieStream. Good turn around on discs and more choice than the other sites. I wouldnt recomend the game rentals though as the choice is not very good and there are not really any new games to choose from, also the package that allows you to rent games is 5 quid more.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Tim from Aberdeenshire, February 25, 2007

Love film have deteriorated recently getting almost none of my top choices. Their discs are always dirty & often scratched causing skipping or freezing. Email customer service is appalling ignoring complaints or taking 3 or 4 days to reply. Despite complains they just reply with comments that all discs are checked before despatch. If so they must wear blindfolds. Site is easy to use with good ratings & reviews

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Ron from Cornwall, February 24, 2007

Lovefilm has a pretty good service, unbeaten selection, and generally does what it says it will--but isn't perfect. Discs can take awhile in the post and new releases can take awhile. If you know these facts up front and don't have uber expectations about getting six discs a week or something, then you'll be OK, and I'm quite happy with the service. Because even with the flaws it's better then the inconvenience of heading down to Blockbuster each time, or taking a gamble with some of the smaller dvd rental outfits out there.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Stephen, February 22, 2007

Starts off great, then service very poor, contract not honored. Discs often scratched, emails patronising.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

CP, February 20, 2007

As a member of Screen select I was very happy with the great service and turn round of DVDs . Now Love Films has Joined I knew things would change. As being a member with Love Films the service and turn round was a joke at the time before I left to join Screen select. Time has repeated itself now DVD Turnrounds and supply is poor. Returned 3 DVDs, they have not sent any out. This seems to happen evey week DONT BOTHER look else where. Unless they give me a good reason this time its time to cancel.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Rick from Leeds, February 20, 2007

Really Really Really bad! shame I cant give them a rating in minus figures!

They seem to have a system in place whereby they send you your favourite titles very quickly while you on the trial with them, to reel you in. Once you have actually become a paying customer you get their normal service levels which are very bad.

They claim that they will send new DVD's a day after they have received your old ones. This is just plain wrong. Many times I've been waiting for them to allocate my new disks 4 days after they have received my old ones.

Contacting customer services wont make a difference, you get the same standard reply back from them no matter how many times you complain or ask to be put through to a manager. I've read somewhere that they've outsourced their customer services to India, this appears to be borne out by what I've seen. I've complained approx 100 times via their website, and its the same copy-and-paste answer I get back from them every time, with a different name at the bottom. They send me the same answer regardless of what I write in my email.

Website design looks good to star with, until you have a problem, and you realise there's no way to address it. Eg if you have sent all three disks back, and are waiting for them to allocate new ones for days, you could try using the problem solver tool to ask them to get a move on. When you try to initiate the problem solver tool it returns "You have no disks at home" and then redirects you back to the home page. There are other similar issues.

My honest opinion of LoveFiLM is they have crafted a DVD system that is stacked against you from the start. First they give you good service to hook you, then when they start getting money from your bank account they cant care less what kind of service you get, they have an outsourced Customer Services company as a buffer between you and them so you cant actually get through to them to give them a piece of your mind. The website is crafted in a way as to look good but not help anyone in real trouble with the service, and by all accounts leaving them is not free of problems either, many people seem to have money taken from their accounts long after they have asked for their account to be cancelled (including my brother!)

Best advice? Avoid them like the plague, cause once you're in its too late!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Susan from Cheshire, February 17, 2007

As an old Screen Select member, my service has got much worse since the merger with Love Film. The chances of getting a newish (ie in the last 3 months) film are slim and as the discs seem to get a lot of rental use the chances of getting a damaged or unplayable disc are high. When my membership runs out I will try Blockbuster.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Leah, February 16, 2007

I noticed a droppoff in service from about Octoberish to Christmas too, but think they've improved somewhat since. Having reserached the alternatives a bit here, think I'll stick with them, as it sounds like Blockbuster is only slightly better, and I just can't be bothered for so slight a difference.

In their favour, I have to say they are quite good at getting TV series out, much cheaper than buying on the high street, as this has become the way I see my favorite shows these days, on my schedule. Have noticed they are late on new releases, but I can understand that as it's like a library, and those are in the most demand at first.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

David from Leeds, February 10, 2007

I have to say Lovefilm have the most appalling service I have come across and I have been through most of the rental companies over the years. The customer service is terrible, doesn't help they divert E-mail questions to India who give standard reply's and ignore all your questions. High priority DVD's they will not send you until you complain, they send you Series out of order. I have received so many disks that are so scratched I can not play. If you want to join a good DVD club choose Blockbuster or WH Smith's, Lovefilm are terrible, I do not want to give them 1 Star!! They don't deserve it!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Nick from Exeter, February 8, 2007

The service has deteriorated since the merger. Turnaround times of films has increased. Also they rarely send out priority films which means if you want to see a new film then you have to go elsewhere which kinda defeats the exercise. I can't comment on the competition, but my advise would be, if you want to see new films then don't bother with Lovefilm.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Paul from Wales, February 7, 2007

I rented with this company for years and they were superb. Unfortunately they merged with screenselect and everything went wrong. Wrong titles being sent and a lag of two to three days between titles being returned and then sent out. I finally gave up in november 2006. Avoid them like the plague

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Paul from Durham, February 6, 2007

Having tried most of the online rental sites, I have to say that this and another (highly listed on your list)are by far the best value and most reliable rental services. However, the reason for Lovefilm's change must be down to taking over Screenselect (the company I had been with for over 3 years) and incorporating some of their policies perhaps? Anyway I did try Lovefilm twice before take over and found them to be very lacking in service and reliability. However, I must say that since takeover they have been excellent...good titles, speedy posting service and I think the best dvds out there and a wonderful site to express opinions etc. Lovefilm is by far and away the best provider of online dvd rental in this country...though...new releases...would be nice to get more...but a small point. The service is excellent.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Amanda from Godalming, February 6, 2007

Customer Service appalling. When you have a problem with OVER-CHARGING they TOTALLY ignore your emails but seem to be very communicative when you are enquiring about up-grading or opening new accounts

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

Garry from Hertfordshire, January 31, 2007

Terrible, terrible, terrible! the usual honeymoon period lasts a fortnight or so then you are so clearly relegated to the 'taken for granted / we have your money now' category. I had 32 unique titles in my list but they still wouldn't send me any withour frequent emails to customer services complaining about the dreadful service. Truly awful.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Will from Manchester, February 2, 2007

I don't know what the complaints are about, Lovefilm do what they say they'll do, have totally changed the way I watch films. No more chained to Blockbuster store, wasting time. I get the films I want through the door, nothing to complain about. I mean what do you expect, that they'll have a gazillion copies of a new release the day its released, that once in a great while the rare disc won't have a scratch, get real.

Don't be put off by the whinging, Lovefilm do work very well and are the biggest around (disagree with this site moving Blockbuster to the top, but fair enough that's your opinion).

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Dave from Edinburgh, January 31, 2007

LoveFilm is by far the worst DVD rental service I have ever had the misfortune to use. After the free trial period expired, their behaviour went from bad to worse. I had 25 items on "High" priority for over 6 weeks and recieved none of them. In one fortnight, 3 out of 4 discs I recieved were damaged. Eventually, LoveFilm started sending me films that weren't even on my list, not even the lowest priority ones.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Ru from the Islands, January 27, 2007

APPALLING service. Really quite unbelievably bad. I've been with Lovefilm for a couple of months now: it took ages for the first DVDs to arrive, turnaround was then very slow, and - worst - more than half the DVDs which arrived were unplayable due to cracks, breaks or very deep scratches - or those that arrived were from series out of sequence, despite my using the 'only send in series order' facility. The upshot that is on my 2 disc 'unlimited' service I've been able to receive a max. of 8 DVDs per month, - of which I've only been able to watch 3-4 DVDs per month, for 12.99. This works out at over 3 per DVD. LoveFilm only ever seem to send replacements instead of the next DVDs I was expecting - and have refused to comment on whether or not their policy is to send replacements for duff discs only at the expense of the next discs on my list. It seems their policy is not to have more than the allotted number of DVDs out at once, regardless of whether you've received du ff/incorrect DVDs. This seems insane, as it means you pay directly for their service failure. I'm receiving half the DVDs I'm paying for, and their customer service simply won't answer my direct question regarding this problem. Some DVDs definitely left their warehouse so badly scratched they wouldn't play: others MAY have been damaged in the post, but this is not surprising as more than half so far have arrived unprotected. Both product and service have been shocking, and they don't seem to take complaints seriously. I've been offered 18 days' extra rental as a result of this, but it doesn't address the key problems, does not in financial terms even cover what the service failure has cost me in terms of lost viewing, and is probably irrelevant if I cancel my subscription.

On the basis of my experiences, avoid like the plague!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Peter from Essex, January 26, 2007

I can do no better than quote my letter of complaint to them

"Dear lovefilm, Please have this investigated by a manager as I wish to complain.
Re: the below. I have returned the film, Most Xtreme Primate, along with 2 other films in the same envelope. You recognised that the other 2 films had been returned to you, so what has happened to the film most extreme primate? I sent the V91 back to you with a covering letter- a copy of which I attach. I also have attached a scan of the V91 posta loss form.
I have done all I reasonably can.
Please read and cancel the charge of 20. I am livid about your incompetence and shall not be renewing my subscription unless this is corrected forthwith.
Yours sincerely, Peter

From Love film:Peter,
With reference to:The lost DVD.
We have not received the V91 we sent you to obtain written confirmation of when this title was posted back to us. Consequently, a charge of 20 has been made to your account to cover the replacement cost of the disc.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Louise, January 25, 2007

Don't join them. I have been with Lovefilm for a year. At first it was good value but after going back to University to train to be a teacher I no longer had the time to watch the films. I rang to cancel, which seemed pretty straight forward but it never got done. When it finally did I was informed to send back any DVDs I had, which I did. One month later, the DVDs have strangly never arrived back to them, they want to charge me 20 per DVD, and are still charging me my monthly subscription. What's more because my account is pending cancellation I have no access to a telephone number or email address. Great isn't is lovefilm!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Pinx from Kendall, January 24, 2007

since lovefilm took over screen select i am now waiting over a week from them receiving my dvds back, their website looks excellent and is easy to navigate but is not quick in updating after sending back dvds. Also on following a series i received disc 1 of series 2 before the final disc of series 1.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Roxanne from Rochdale, January 24, 2007

Can I actually give customer service no stars. I was tempted to lovefilm.com via a free trial which also offered a high street voucher. I gave them a try and was impressed by the speed of sending out dvds. However I am still waiting for the voucher and keep getting ridiculous excuses as to why they can't give me it. I have send another email today threatening to withdraw my subscription. I have also changed bank accounts and they still have my old details so their loss. I'm looking to save some money any way.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Anna from Edinburgh, January 22, 2007

The website looks great and is easy to use, but the customer service is AWFUL. I started a trial, and when I sent back my 2 discs (in the same envelope) they only recorded one as received. I never got another dvd, despite repeated assurances that I would, and they are still charging me for the service. Their customer service reps never had any idea what was going on or what to do about it.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Rachel from London, January 22, 2007

Lovefilm customer service is absolutely dreadful. I have finally managed to get hold of a phone number for them but before that played a very frustrating game of email tennis for several weeks. Each time they did not answer my query in full and on one occasion even responded with a completly unrelated response. I phoned today and a lady with very poor English on the other end of the line seemed to get quite frustrated understanding my query and after a few minutes talking me hung up the phone.

I was saying I did not understand why I had not qualified for the promotional offer I joined with. She was saying I had not followed instructions carefully but offered no further explanation. I am now paying 9.99 a month to Lovefilm and am frustrated this price does not entitle me to a decent standard of customer service

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Tracey from North London, January 21, 2007

I have been with Lovefilm for over 3 years but I am growing tired of the poor service. New releases used to be delivered relatively quickly but now I am lucky if I receive them before they premiere on Sky movies! Fed up opening my envelopes to find my low priority choices all the time. Lovefilm - its time to get more copies of the most demanded films before you concentrate on getting more customers!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Rich, January 21, 2007

Lovefilm have a great webiste, which is clear and easy to navigate. However, that is where the praise ends as unfortunately the service does not back up this initial promise.

The turn around times aren't great, but the real problem is the appalling quality of the disks they send out. I would say that as many as 50% of popular disks they send out are either filthy or badly scratched, which ruins the whole watching experience. My advice, until the service improves go elsewhere.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Julz from Lichfield, January 21, 2007

LoveFilm have died since buying up screen select - i`ve tried about 10 different servies all on free trials and LoveFilm WERE the best - now they are one of the worst - customer service is awful , i found i had to email everyday just to remind them that they`d had my films back for 2 days and it was time they sent me more - they actually told me and another 2 of my friends that the 3 at a time deal took less priority than the 1 at a time deal - as if we had 3 at a time they`d only send 1 or 2 out and it was very true , i never actually semmed to have 3 in my possesion . Now If you want quality and very good speed - try Blockbusters - but if you want the fastest i`ve found even if you only get a few top titles its got to be mymoviestream - they ALWAYS send out same day and always seem to get them back next day - perfect ! - i have over 100 in my list so maybe if i cut my list down then i`d get some of the higher listed titles - but as i have 6 at a time and they alwa ys seem to get thme to me it wont be long until i`ve gone through a few hundered more.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Joel from London, January 18, 2007

I find the website quite easy to use, in the 6 months I've used Lovefilm, I've had two or three fulty disks. We rarely see any of the top 10 disks though.

I've also noticed that when we first signed up, we could send a DVD back on the Mon and by Wed we'd have the next DVD. These days, I think they hold off sending the next disk for another day. I guess this is an alternative to increasing the prices !

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Pat from Bristol, January 16, 2007

I recently signed up to Lovefilm after being given a free trial voucher. As part of the free trial, I thought I'd use the features on the website including changing the package I had subscribed to.

Unbeknown to me, this ended the free trial, and my credit card was charged. They have pointed out that this is in their terms and conditions and also on the page where I change my subscription (although not on the screen at the time... you have to scroll down).

Having done further investigation, it seems that their entire organisation is designed to fleece customers. It takes five pages on the website to cancel, but they can't even send an email to tell you they're charging your credit card account? Hmmm... Customer Services are not helpful either - replies are cut & paste emails, or there's a premium rate phone line that I haven't tried, but apparently is fraught with problems.

Do your research... there are a lot of complaints from dissatisfied customers out on the web, many of whom have found their credit cards incorrectly charged.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

Louisa from Manchester, January 16, 2007

i used have free trial with them for 3 months and got a good service but recently came back after they offered me 3 months for price of 1 month.

the service is completly different some days im not even allocating dvds unless im due 3 dvds and they never send me dvds at top of my list just ones at bottom and i never get any of the new releases i think blockbuster would be a better service to use

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

David from Glasgow, January 13, 2007

Lovefilm website is excellent. Same cannot be said of quality of service. Cracked and scratched discs on several occasions and never any films from Top 10!! Upped and left to Blockbuster an lo and behold Blockbuster managed to send The Da Vinci Code, Pirates of the Carribean and Superman Returns as my first deliveries. Had waited 4 months without success with these titles at the top of my Lovefilm list. Customer service is miserable and they reneged on my free trial offer claiming I had been a member at another site run by them (I had not). Very poor - would not recommend to friends.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Lauren from Sheffield, January 11, 2007

I agree that since the merger between lovefilm and screenselect service has gone way down, with screenselect new dvds were allocated and posted the same day as they received the old ones back, however with lovefilm it takes much longer. Another thing that annoys me is lovefilm are always sending out vouchers to pass on to friends to get them new customers but never offer any rewards for their existing customers.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Rob from the West, January 12, 2007

I have been with Lovefilm since 2004 always receiving an excellent service, but since they have merged with Screen Select the level of service has become abysmal. I guess they feel they have the monopoly now & can rip off their customers, all I ever seem to see in my DVD queue now is the following message -

Awaiting allocation
Awaiting allocation
Awaiting allocation

If the service doesn't improve I shall be taking my custom elsewhere & I shall make sure it has no ties with Lovefilm/Screen Select. Value for money is very poor as the turn around for me is now several days 2-3 days to receive a DVD & 3-4 days awaiting allocation. Customer service is very poor email contact only!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Shasha from Manchester, January 8, 2007

I used to be a very happy customer with Screenselect, but since becoming Lovefilm the service has been appalling. Turnround of DVDs has been very slow, and why do I keep getting the DVDs right at the bottom of my list?? I've been waiting for Sopranos Series 2 for months!! Is everybody else in the country asking for Sopranos Series 2??

Needless to say, I have cancelled my account and taking my custom elsewhere.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

George, January 7, 2006

Have been with Screen Select (now Love Film) for well over a year and found their service terrific. Unfortunately, when Love film merged with them some months ago the whole thing fell apart. I am on the 3 dvd rental for 15.99 per month - in the past 3 weeks I have had 4 dvds - the last one was Dunkirk starring John Mills (bless his cotton socks) made over 50 years ago - hardly a new release. Love film can only be contacted by email - The reply (standard reply) I have had include no apology for the delay or any offer of compensation - they threw the ball back in my court by saying there was a problem with my list of dvds stating some were no longer available or were out of stock! Perhaps that is why they claim to have more films than anyone?
In the same period I joined Amazon and had 6 new releases at 9.99 also 10% off any dvd purchase and contactable by phone.
Love film 15.99 a bit steep for "unlimited" rentals (as in certain "unlimited" Broadband) and now a very poor service! Bring back Screenselect and all is forgiven!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Alucard from Lincs, January 5, 2007

i agree with paul from brighton lovefilm were first class until there merger with screenselct now there service is awful it took nine days for my last 3 discs to arrive and when they did they were the discs from the bottom of my list. Just changed to blockbuster and the service is very good they will get my money in future.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Helena from Kent, January 5, 2007

Excellent if only a small library. I was happy with ScreenSelect until Lovefilm took them over in the summer. Lovefilm stalled on acknowledging receipt of my discs, their website didn't work and they told me discs had been sent out only to 'update' my page so that it showed they'd been shipped out later. I upped and went to My Moviestream. You get what you pay for and they treat you very fairly. I love that they allocate your next discs at 3 o'clock on the same day they receive your old ones. No problem with their website and it's nice and easy to use. They're noticfication e-mails for receipts of returned discs and the dispatching of new ones are prompt. I used their customer service just the once and found them helpful. I always get my top priority, none of this nonsense of waiting ages for my most wanted films that I had with Lovefilm. Loads of companies could learn from My MovieStream. Only down side is they do not have a big library but at least you know
you'll get what you ask for without a huge wait.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Paul, January 5, 2007

I had a great time using them when they were ScreenSelect, but once they merged to become LoveFilm I have noticed a serious decrease in the quality of service.

I have been receiving films from the bottom of my list and not those I have marked as high priority, and they take much longer to arrive than they used to. Also I can send a DVD back and its 5 days before its registered as being returned.

It seems a classic case of a big company getting bigger and losing the edge when it comes to customer service. A shame as its catalogue is spectacular. I rent a lot of anme titles which i received relatively quickly, but anything that is popular takes forever!

I hope they can improve things soon, or I'll be off.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jay, January 4, 2007

Lovefilm used to be a great site to rend dvds but since its merger with screenselect things have changed rapidly.

I am on 3 disc but it has slowed down, i get sent 1 dvd a day instead of 3 even though they have received teh three i sent back.

Sometimes i get sent no dvds for a number of days.

I contacted the customer service about it and basically they ignored me.

Lovefilm either has too many customers or not enough copies of dvds. Today is thursday, lovefilm received all my dvds on monday and thus far they have only sent 1 dvd while the other two are "awaiting allocation".

I won't sign up with them again after this promotion is over

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Paul from Brighton, January 3, 2007

Like so many others I have tried, Love Film started off o.k but soon deteriorates in service once you start paying every month. Discs are awaiting allocation for ages, you get films from the bottom of your list that have been out for ages and they take too long to acknowledge they have the discs back. I think the photo in the main review sums it up really, massive warehouse with three people sitting round chatting! Having tried Blockbuster, Love Film, Screen Select, Amazon, Movie Stream I believe rental by post to be fundamentally flawed unless you're happy to get films that have been on TV, on general release for ages or so obscure no one else wants them. The companies all seem unable to keep up with demand. I'm reverting back to the local store until online downloading is fully up and running.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

See 2005 and 2006 Lovefilm Reviews

 

Return to Lovefilm Review Page

Visit Lovefilm DVD Rental Site

 
Add Your Comments on Lovefilm DVD Rental

You: (ie, John from Essex)
Email address: (won't be kept, but required to deter spammers)

Please rate Lovefilm on the following criteria:

Value? . Design? . Customer Service?

Your Review:

By submitting you agree to our Policies on visitor comments

Online DVD rental prices and terms change frequently; check the company website for the latest.

UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com is not responsible for any losses resulting from the information provided (see Disclaimer). If you do spot a discrepancy, please email us and we'll update the site.

UK Games Rental Guide

Hotel Chocolat - Luxury delivered chocolate gifts

UK Diet Review

UK Internet Dating Guide

UK Internet Dating Guide

Flat Telly

UK eReader Guide

Flat Telly

Flat Telly

UK eReader Guide

GameAccount | Multiplayer Blackjack Tournament

Flat Telly

Hotel Chocolat - Luxury delivered chocolate gifts

UK eReader Guide

UK eReader Guide

Flat Telly

 
HomeRental BasicsVideo Games RentalNews/LinksWhat's NewSite MapContact/Link to Us
 

The views and opinions expressed on the site are our own, and we have not been given free subscriptions, products, or other compensation to publish them. Many of the reviewed companies offer affiliate commissions, but these do not influence our reviews or rankings, which we keep open and unbiased. Our recommendations are made on the merits of a product or service, as we review based on our experience, education, and background. At our discretion we may accept third-party advertising, but this does not constitute our endorsement.

Copyright 2005-11© UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com. All Rights Reserved